DROT

Have a rules dilemma? Post it here.
Eric Kevorkian
I have no life
Posts: 5107
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:11 pm
Nickname: Kovo
NEFA #: 1304
Location: Millis, MA

Post by Eric Kevorkian »

Fu Man wrote:
Kovo wrote:It's happened to me recently...Can't remember where it was though.


Amesbury probably


Nope..only time I played there was the APO and i'm pretty sure it wasn't then. I want to say it was at Tully...
Team Lefty - GOATS!
Mike Dussault
I live here
Posts: 4609
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:07 pm

Post by Mike Dussault »

Barre falls has baskets that allow drop throughs. I had a disc hang on the outside of the basket once, supported by nubs. It went in and out, then just hung on the outside. GOOD!

What if the snow is basket height, and the disc is resting on snow and the rim?
Mike Dussault
I live here
Posts: 4609
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:07 pm

Post by Mike Dussault »

[



So this actually states that despite the group not willing to give you an "at rest" call, it COULD be holed out if the player gets there in time. The way this reads, I'm taking it that the player actually has priority to go retrieve their disc before anyone else throws, yes? Because otherwise I could see other players trying to call courtesy violations for a player INSISTING he clear his disc before other people threw, even if this was a "fairway ace" example.[/quote]


I always considered it courtesy to clear the disc after holing out.
Dave McHale
I live here
Posts: 4915
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 12:10 pm
Nickname: cromwell
Location: Southington, CT
Contact:

Post by Dave McHale »

yeah but I'm sure you've also seen other players get visibly annoyed when you take 4 or 5 steps towards the basket to clear the disc and they just wanted to take their putt "while they felt good" about it Mike, no? It's always been kind of grey which way courtesy goes in that situation... and in the case of a fairway ace, one could try and argue speed of play rules may trump allowing a player to clear their basket, no? But that would seem unfair if the player asked for, and wasn't granted, an at-rest call on the shot. That's where I think it could be kind of shady during a round.
ACT XIII - June 3rd & 4th, 2017
Tournament Website | Like the ACT on Facebook
Post Reply