contained OB question
-
Matt Aubin
- I live here
- Posts: 1895
- Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:02 pm
- NEFA #: 1202
contained OB question
Scenario: Hole A has a small pond that is surrounded by an OB line; in the pond/over the line completely, you're OB with penalty.
You throw on Hole B (not A) and end up inside the OB of hole A... horrible shot obviously, but is the OB on Hole A only specific to shots thrown from the Tee of A, or is it considered 'full course' OB line?
You throw on Hole B (not A) and end up inside the OB of hole A... horrible shot obviously, but is the OB on Hole A only specific to shots thrown from the Tee of A, or is it considered 'full course' OB line?
-
Kenji Cline
- I live here
- Posts: 1118
- Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:19 am
- NEFA #: 1163
- Location: Colonie, NY
Re: contained OB question
If it was shanked that bad you deserve the penalty. I would play it as OB for the whole course.
-
Bill Newman
- I live here
- Posts: 2126
- Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 6:24 am
- Location: Yorktown, NY
Re: contained OB question
I'd say the default answer would be...OB on one hole, OB for any hole
but a course pro, TD, or "local rules" could specify otherwise...
but a course pro, TD, or "local rules" could specify otherwise...
Bill Newman
FDR PARK, Yorktown, N.Y.
FDR PARK, Yorktown, N.Y.
-
Chuck Kennedy
- I live here
- Posts: 1528
- Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:21 pm
Re: contained OB question
In the case of "contained OB" the assumption would be that it is OB for any hole. The tricky part is when you have an island hole such that the grassy fairway all the way to the island is called OB for that hole and it's next to another hole where its grassy fairway continues into the island hole fairway with no boundary or break. An example is hole 1 at the USDGC where its fairway blends right into the notorious hole 17 pine bale hole where the fairway is OB. If the fairway OB on the island hole isn't contained with a line of some sort separating fairways, it can't be OB if a shot from the nearby hole shanks into the island fairway.
-
Dave McHale
- I live here
- Posts: 4915
- Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 12:10 pm
- Nickname: cromwell
- Location: Southington, CT
- Contact:
Re: contained OB question
Matt Aubin wrote:Scenario: Hole A has a small pond that is surrounded by an OB line; in the pond/over the line completely, you're OB with penalty.
You throw on Hole B (not A) and end up inside the OB of hole A... horrible shot obviously, but is the OB on Hole A only specific to shots thrown from the Tee of A, or is it considered 'full course' OB line?
PLEASE tell me this isn't about Hole 6 @ thorn... at least not due to a "it actually happened" scenario. Or, if it did, I need to know which hole was being played and who it was, so I can taunt them mercilessly about this
-
Mike Zorovich
- I live here
- Posts: 2058
- Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:10 pm
- Nickname: Zoro
- Location: meriden, CT
Re: contained OB question
It didn't actually go into the hot tub....
One might say it almost black aced too...
At least I saved the par....
A picture might be available for proof. Check with Brian Carter for the pic.
One might say it almost black aced too...
At least I saved the par....
A picture might be available for proof. Check with Brian Carter for the pic.
PANTHORN DGC
-
Matt Aubin
- I live here
- Posts: 1895
- Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:02 pm
- NEFA #: 1202
Re: contained OB question
aw c'mon DMC gimme some credit I wouldn't botch one that bad.
oh. hey Z. what's up.
yeah thorn 6/7, also thinking of Page 12/13 where you could roll all the way down to the pond.
oh. hey Z. what's up.
yeah thorn 6/7, also thinking of Page 12/13 where you could roll all the way down to the pond.
-
Joseph Mason Proud, III
- I have no life
- Posts: 5770
- Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 2:33 pm
- Nickname: LiCk
- NEFA #: 24
- Location: DEEP INSIDE
Re: contained OB question
omg
13th Annual Greater Hartford disc golf Open
PDGA A TIER
September 8 - 10, 2017
TEAM WICK-Four Time Team Challenge CHAMPS
A well-licked disc gathers no chains.
Don't forget to wipe.
PDGA A TIER
September 8 - 10, 2017
TEAM WICK-Four Time Team Challenge CHAMPS
A well-licked disc gathers no chains.
Don't forget to wipe.
-
Marvino Manalo
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 880
- Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 8:53 am
- Nickname: Stopmarvino
- Location: in your head
Re: contained OB question
Matt Aubin wrote:aw c'mon DMC gimme some credit I wouldn't botch one that bad.
oh. hey Z. what's up.![]()
yeah thorn 6/7, also thinking of Page 12/13 where you could roll all the way down to the pond.
Your lucky you didn't go OB with your second shot! Otherwise you would $h!t your a$$
FACE
-
James Lane
- I live here
- Posts: 1854
- Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 12:51 pm
Re: contained OB question
Matt Aubin wrote:aw c'mon DMC gimme some credit I wouldn't botch one that bad.
oh. hey Z. what's up.![]()
yeah thorn 6/7, also thinking of Page 12/13 where you could roll all the way down to the pond.
man i almost did this at page just Friday. Hole 13 upshot, I called it to go into the water as soon as it missed the cage, but it ended up a clear 5 feet from the water.
-
Brian Carter
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 272
- Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:18 am
Re: contained OB question
the common denominator in zoro's and laners shots seems to be me...apparently i bring out the best in people
