Illegal lie mark?

Have a rules dilemma? Post it here.
Post Reply
Drew Smith
discussion lifer
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:58 am
Nickname: Drew
NEFA #: 313
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Illegal lie mark?

Post by Drew Smith »

I see this a lot. When the front edge of the disc is not resting on the ground (tombstone, leaning on a rock, etc.), a player will mark the lie at the front edge of the disc. But the rules say the marker needs to be touching the disc.

So in the example of a tombstone (disc stuck in the ground on edge), you would mark it like:

Code: Select all

  /      
/_

and not like

Code: Select all

  /
/    _


Check out the 2012 USDGC at the 15:35 mark.
Drew Smith NH
PDGA #16073 | NEFA #313
Tag League Manager tool
Rob Walker
I live here
Posts: 1904
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:36 pm
NEFA #: 670
Location: Rolling the wrong way....
Contact:

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Rob Walker »

Isn't your lie a vertical plane? If my disc is under a large rock, my lie, where I place my mini is directly above the front rim of my disc, on the rock above it. Same with being under a bridge that is over casual water.
Sometimes I wonder, "Why is that disc getting bigger?". Then it hits me.
Patrick Harris
discussion lifer
Posts: 609
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:25 pm
Nickname: DeafDiscGolfer
Location: Brattleboro, VT
Contact:

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Patrick Harris »

Drew Smith wrote:Check out the 2012 USDGC at the 15:35 mark.

This is correct placement.

Pretend that you push the disc down to the ground (horizontal level) after sticking up, that's the area to mark in front of the disc. Same thing for 2 meter rules.
Tee Off and Pay ATTENTION!! :shock:
(a twisted concept from Ed's infamous quote)
NEDDG #12 / DDGA #134 / DGCR #1287 / NEFA #1748 / PDGA #42420
Mike Dussault
I live here
Posts: 4609
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:07 pm

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Mike Dussault »

What about a bridge over troubled water???
Patrick Harris
discussion lifer
Posts: 609
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:25 pm
Nickname: DeafDiscGolfer
Location: Brattleboro, VT
Contact:

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Patrick Harris »

Mike Dussault wrote:What about a bridge over troubled water???

Well, it's up to the TD or course rules.

It's either an OB or playable on the bridge where the disc landed.

If the water is casual, then use 1 meter placement from either side of the water hazard where the disc first entered. No stoke penalty.
Tee Off and Pay ATTENTION!! :shock:
(a twisted concept from Ed's infamous quote)
NEDDG #12 / DDGA #134 / DGCR #1287 / NEFA #1748 / PDGA #42420
Jeff Prendergast
I live here
Posts: 1258
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:31 am
Location: about 15 minutes away
Contact:

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Jeff Prendergast »

Mike Dussault wrote:What about a bridge over troubled water???

I will lay me down.








Obviously.
NEFA #429
Image


Anywhere but...
Josh Connell
I live here
Posts: 2003
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
Contact:

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Josh Connell »

Patrick Harris wrote:If the water is casual, then use 1 meter placement from either side of the water hazard where the disc first entered. No stoke penalty.

Uh, what? The casual obstacle (casual water) rule has not changed since the 1997 edition of the rules...
803.01 Obstacles And Relief
B. Casual Obstacles to a Stance: A player may obtain relief only from the following obstacles that are on or behind the lie: casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players' equipment, people, or any item or area specifically designated by the Director before the round. To obtain relief, the player must remove the obstacle if it is practical to do so. If it is impractical to move the obstacle, the player's lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the target, is on the line of play, and is not more than five meters from the original lie (unless greater casual relief is announced by the Director).


Don't confuse the casual obstacle rule with OB rules. Two different circumstances, two different rules, two different ways to play.
Rob Walker
I live here
Posts: 1904
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:36 pm
NEFA #: 670
Location: Rolling the wrong way....
Contact:

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Rob Walker »

Josh Connell wrote:
Patrick Harris wrote:If the water is casual, then use 1 meter placement from either side of the water hazard where the disc first entered. No stoke penalty.

Uh, what? The casual obstacle (casual water) rule has not changed since the 1997 edition of the rules...
803.01 Obstacles And Relief
B. Casual Obstacles to a Stance: A player may obtain relief only from the following obstacles that are on or behind the lie: casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players' equipment, people, or any item or area specifically designated by the Director before the round. To obtain relief, the player must remove the obstacle if it is practical to do so. If it is impractical to move the obstacle, the player's lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the target, is on the line of play, and is not more than five meters from the original lie (unless greater casual relief is announced by the Director).


Don't confuse the casual obstacle rule with OB rules. Two different circumstances, two different rules, two different ways to play.


Thanks, Josh. Always the voice of reason. I really need to start carrying a metric tape measure in my bag.
Sometimes I wonder, "Why is that disc getting bigger?". Then it hits me.
Drew Smith
discussion lifer
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:58 am
Nickname: Drew
NEFA #: 313
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Drew Smith »

Patrick Harris wrote:
Drew Smith wrote:Check out the 2012 USDGC at the 15:35 mark.

This is correct placement.

Pretend that you push the disc down to the ground (horizontal level) after sticking up, that's the area to mark in front of the disc. Same thing for 2 meter rules.


I'm arguing that it's not correct placement. I can't find the "push the disc down" rule anywhere in the rule book.

802.03 Marking The Lie

A. The position of a thrown disc on the in-bounds playing surface marks its lie.

B. Alternatively, a mini marker disc may be used to mark the lie by placing it on the playing surface, touching the front of the thrown disc on the line of play.


Reading the rules, you can only mark the front edge of the disc and not touch the disc if the disc is above or below the playing surface. A tombstone is touching the playing surface, so is not above or below. The front edge might be above, but that's not what the rules say - it has to be the entire disc (just like OOB -all or none).

802.02 Establishing Position

C. If the disc first comes to rest above or below the playing surface, its position is on the playing surface directly below or above the disc.
Drew Smith NH
PDGA #16073 | NEFA #313
Tag League Manager tool
Darby OLeary
novice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:17 pm

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Darby OLeary »

Drew Smith
discussion lifer
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:58 am
Nickname: Drew
NEFA #: 313
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Drew Smith »

Nice!

So I guess a disc where the front is in the air and the back is touching the ground is considered "above the playing surface" - it's not "all or none".
Drew Smith NH
PDGA #16073 | NEFA #313
Tag League Manager tool
Patrick Harris
discussion lifer
Posts: 609
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:25 pm
Nickname: DeafDiscGolfer
Location: Brattleboro, VT
Contact:

Re: Illegal lie mark?

Post by Patrick Harris »

Josh Connell wrote:
Patrick Harris wrote:If the water is casual, then use 1 meter placement from either side of the water hazard where the disc first entered. No stoke penalty.

Uh, what? The casual obstacle (casual water) rule has not changed since the 1997 edition of the rules...
803.01 Obstacles And Relief
B. Casual Obstacles to a Stance: A player may obtain relief only from the following obstacles that are on or behind the lie: casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players' equipment, people, or any item or area specifically designated by the Director before the round. To obtain relief, the player must remove the obstacle if it is practical to do so. If it is impractical to move the obstacle, the player's lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the target, is on the line of play, and is not more than five meters from the original lie (unless greater casual relief is announced by the Director).


Don't confuse the casual obstacle rule with OB rules. Two different circumstances, two different rules, two different ways to play.

You are correct, it should be 5 meters, not 1 meter for casual obstacle. :drunken:
Tee Off and Pay ATTENTION!! :shock:
(a twisted concept from Ed's infamous quote)
NEDDG #12 / DDGA #134 / DGCR #1287 / NEFA #1748 / PDGA #42420
Post Reply