movement after a disc comes to rest
-
Stephen Ditter
- I live here
- Posts: 4227
- Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:34 pm
- Location: Wickham Park Manchester
- Contact:
movement after a disc comes to rest
During Lufbury league my drive landed (and came to rest) approx. 12 from the basket on hole 2. The player following me had spiked a shot that caught my at rest disc just right, sending it approx. 5 feet further from the basket into a more wooded area. It was the first time in all my years of playing that I saw a stationary disc move so far after contact. I could not quote the exact rule by number (which turns out to be 802.02 E) but I did know that once a disc comes to rest that is the mark. The group all agreed and I replaced my disc the it's original position and sank the putt. I hope I would have sank the moved disc also, but why intentionally take a harder shot.
[color=#008040]Team Wick[/color]
-
Patrick Harris
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 609
- Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:25 pm
- Nickname: DeafDiscGolfer
- Location: Brattleboro, VT
- Contact:
Re: movement after a disc comes to rest
Happens to me once in NY.
Landed my disc on one side of the stick on top of the hill near the basket. Its a Birdie hole.
Another disc landed on the other side of the stick but there's a small stick in middle under the main stick. You get the picture (leverage effect). My disc flipped back about a foot away from the basket and rolled down the hill...WTF
So, the group..after laughing hard...allowed to let me put my disc back to its original place and made the putt.
Landed my disc on one side of the stick on top of the hill near the basket. Its a Birdie hole.
Another disc landed on the other side of the stick but there's a small stick in middle under the main stick. You get the picture (leverage effect). My disc flipped back about a foot away from the basket and rolled down the hill...WTF
So, the group..after laughing hard...allowed to let me put my disc back to its original place and made the putt.
Tee Off and Pay ATTENTION!! 
(a twisted concept from Ed's infamous quote)
NEDDG #12 / DDGA #134 / DGCR #1287 / NEFA #1748 / PDGA #42420
(a twisted concept from Ed's infamous quote)
NEDDG #12 / DDGA #134 / DGCR #1287 / NEFA #1748 / PDGA #42420
-
Jeff Wiechowski
- I have no life
- Posts: 8579
- Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:20 pm
- Nickname: "Captain Anhyzer"
- NEFA #: 1112
- Location: Ballston Lake, NY
- Contact:
Re: movement after a disc comes to rest
Similar issue this weekend at a TC..........
My drive hit a tree far down the fairway and landed upside down in a puddle that encircled the trunk of the tree. A hillside prevents players on the tee from seeing the base of the tree. By the time I'd gotten to the lie the wind had moved the disc a good foot or more from the base of the tree. My wife was the only one to witness the movement(she was down the fairway) and didn't feel it was her place to mention it to us. She mentioned it to me on the ride home.
Being as she was only a spectator, is she obligated to call attention to the movement? Would her word be considered "official" and have me relocate my disc to its proper lie?
My drive hit a tree far down the fairway and landed upside down in a puddle that encircled the trunk of the tree. A hillside prevents players on the tee from seeing the base of the tree. By the time I'd gotten to the lie the wind had moved the disc a good foot or more from the base of the tree. My wife was the only one to witness the movement(she was down the fairway) and didn't feel it was her place to mention it to us. She mentioned it to me on the ride home.
Being as she was only a spectator, is she obligated to call attention to the movement? Would her word be considered "official" and have me relocate my disc to its proper lie?
-
Jeff Prendergast
- I live here
- Posts: 1258
- Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:31 am
- Location: about 15 minutes away
- Contact:
Re: movement after a disc comes to rest
Somebody called into a PGA tournament after seeing a rules violation on TV and it stuck.
http://www.pga.com/camilo-villegas-disqualified-kapalua-after-viewer-phones-in-rules-violation
http://www.pga.com/camilo-villegas-disqualified-kapalua-after-viewer-phones-in-rules-violation
-
Chuck Kennedy
- I live here
- Posts: 1528
- Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:21 pm
Re: movement after a disc comes to rest
In sanctioned play, spotters and officials can be deputized by the TD (1.11D) to make calls. But spectators can tell the group what they saw, especially if asked and the group use that information as desired. If it's non-sanctioned, then she could be a legit spotter if the group wanted.
Video evidence is still not allowed in DG but has been allowed in ball golf. However, they are changing the rules in regard to call-ins like the incident referenced.
Video evidence is still not allowed in DG but has been allowed in ball golf. However, they are changing the rules in regard to call-ins like the incident referenced.
-
Jeff Wiechowski
- I have no life
- Posts: 8579
- Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:20 pm
- Nickname: "Captain Anhyzer"
- NEFA #: 1112
- Location: Ballston Lake, NY
- Contact:
Re: movement after a disc comes to rest
Thanks Chuck.
