Practice throws after completing the round
-
Craig Smolin
- I live here
- Posts: 2756
- Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 6:13 pm
- Location: Norwalk, CT
Practice throws after completing the round
Just looking for clarification regarding practice throws following the completion of a round. Not legal until the group has taken scores and tallied the round? Not legal until the scorecard has been turned in? Not legal until all groups have turned in their scorecards?
The University of Michigan - "Hail to the Victors!"
-
Josh Connell
- I live here
- Posts: 2003
- Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
- Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
- Contact:
Re: Practice throws after completing the round
Craig Smolin wrote:Just looking for clarification regarding practice throws following the completion of a round. Not legal until the group has taken scores and tallied the round? Not legal until the scorecard has been turned in? Not legal until all groups have turned in their scorecards?
Your round is over after you've holed out on your last hole. Once the putt is in and counted, you're done. Probably best, courtesy-wise, to wait until everyone in the group has holed out and scored the final hole before throwing any practice shots, but it's legal to throw practice throws as soon as you have completed play on the last hole of the round.
The rules regarding totaling and turning in one's scorecard all reference those acts happening after the end/completion of the round. So that directly implies that the round is over before those things can take place...
805.02 Scoring
F. At the end of the round, each player shall sign the scorecard to attest to the accuracy of the score on each hole as well as the total score. If all players of the group agree that a hole score was recorded in error, the score may be changed prior to the scorecard being turned in. Players whose scorecards are turned in unsigned accept responsibility for the scores recorded.
G. All players are responsible for returning their scorecards within 30 minutes of the completion of a round...
-
Craig Smolin
- I live here
- Posts: 2756
- Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 6:13 pm
- Location: Norwalk, CT
Re: Practice throws after completing the round
Thanks Josh!
The University of Michigan - "Hail to the Victors!"
-
Chris Bolton
- I live here
- Posts: 1494
- Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 6:31 pm
- Nickname: CCOW
- Location: mooing in the field
- Contact:
-
Josh Connell
- I live here
- Posts: 2003
- Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
- Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
- Contact:
Re:
Chris Bolton wrote:The definition for "completion of round" was removed from the rule book this year.
Wasn't removed from the book, just moved and incorporated into the only rule in which the phrase appears (805.02).
G. All players are responsible for returning their scorecards within 30 minutes of the completion of a round. The round has been officially completed for all competitors when the last group on the course has completed their final hole and has had, in the Director's opinion, reasonable time to travel from their final hole to tournament headquarters.
-
Eric Kretschmar
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 288
- Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:00 am
- Nickname: Kretschy
- NEFA #: 1453
- Location: Crane Hill
Re: Practice throws after completing the round
Josh, this came up yesterday immediately following the last putt of the first rd at Hunt's. I scoured the rule book at lunch and after the round, finding only this phrase you point out about the score card needing to be turned in within 30 minutes of the completion of the round. I agree with you Josh, the rule book implies your round is complete before the card is turned in, so therefore you can practice throw or putt before the card is turned in as long as you've holed out on your last hole. Since this originally came up in 2013, any change to your position here?? For the record, many on my card AND many at the cars believed the card needed to be turned in first before any practice is allowed.
NEFA 1453 *** PDGA 46763
TEAM CRANE HILL
ACE Hole 11 Hyzer Creek
TEAM CRANE HILL
ACE Hole 11 Hyzer Creek
-
Josh Connell
- I live here
- Posts: 2003
- Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
- Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
- Contact:
Re: Practice throws after completing the round
No change in my opinion. The rule is still the same as when the thread started. Once the final putts are holed out, the round is over. Practice away, but don't let it delay the card being turned in.
-
Eric Kretschmar
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 288
- Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:00 am
- Nickname: Kretschy
- NEFA #: 1453
- Location: Crane Hill
Re: Practice throws after completing the round
Thanks Josh. Your accurate and timely responses are appreciated.
NEFA 1453 *** PDGA 46763
TEAM CRANE HILL
ACE Hole 11 Hyzer Creek
TEAM CRANE HILL
ACE Hole 11 Hyzer Creek