Rule of verticality ?
-
Jeff Wiechowski
- I have no life
- Posts: 8579
- Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:20 pm
- Nickname: "Captain Anhyzer"
- NEFA #: 1112
- Location: Ballston Lake, NY
- Contact:
Rule of verticality ?
This phantom rule was brought up yesterday and I questioned its existence. A players disc came to rest under a foot bridge and he wanted to mark and throw from on the bridge. I said the lie was playable as is(he could easily get his foot to the marker).
The TD said that a player has the option of establishing a lie on top of a permanent obstacle but I don't see this wording in the rules.
http://www.pdga.com/rules/official-rule ... and-relief
The TD said that a player has the option of establishing a lie on top of a permanent obstacle but I don't see this wording in the rules.
http://www.pdga.com/rules/official-rule ... and-relief
-
Josh Connell
- I live here
- Posts: 2003
- Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
- Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
- Contact:
Re: Rule of verticality ?
That TD is wrong. If the disc is on a playing surface, you play from that playing surface. You don't get to choose a new one.
The only instance in which you can move a lie up or down like that is if the disc is not on a playing surface already. For example, a disc that rolls into a culvert pipe. Another example would be a rocky surface like the green on hole 11 at Buffumville...if a disc slid between a couple boulders there such that you can't get a foot (or hand) behind the disc to take a stance.
If the ground under the bridge is in bounds and a stance can be taken (not a comfortable one necessarily, but a stance), then that's where the player has to play from.
Put another way, a bridge is park equipment like a picnic table. You can't stand on a picnic table if you land under it (landing on it is a different argument). Bridge is the same thing.
The only instance in which you can move a lie up or down like that is if the disc is not on a playing surface already. For example, a disc that rolls into a culvert pipe. Another example would be a rocky surface like the green on hole 11 at Buffumville...if a disc slid between a couple boulders there such that you can't get a foot (or hand) behind the disc to take a stance.
If the ground under the bridge is in bounds and a stance can be taken (not a comfortable one necessarily, but a stance), then that's where the player has to play from.
Put another way, a bridge is park equipment like a picnic table. You can't stand on a picnic table if you land under it (landing on it is a different argument). Bridge is the same thing.
-
Jeff Wiechowski
- I have no life
- Posts: 8579
- Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:20 pm
- Nickname: "Captain Anhyzer"
- NEFA #: 1112
- Location: Ballston Lake, NY
- Contact:
Re: Rule of verticality ?
Thanks Josh. Same thought I had about park equipment. I cringe every time I hear someone say it out of context.
Rule of verticality only applies to the OB line, where a disc comes to rest above the physical line.
Rule of verticality only applies to the OB line, where a disc comes to rest above the physical line.
-
James Scanlon
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 246
- Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:43 pm
- Nickname: JimmyDG
- NEFA #: 1885
Re: Rule of verticality ?
How does this apply in casual water? I saw this occur at Flat Rock where someone landed underneath the bridge in casual water and couldn't take a stance but was allowed to mark it directly above it and play from the bridge/
Jimmy Disc Golf
60248
1885
Mr. DG Enthusiast
60248
1885
Mr. DG Enthusiast
-
Jeff Wiechowski
- I have no life
- Posts: 8579
- Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:20 pm
- Nickname: "Captain Anhyzer"
- NEFA #: 1112
- Location: Ballston Lake, NY
- Contact:
Re: Rule of verticality ?
The way I've interpreted the rule(green wording) is that you can relocate AWAY from the target. But if the bridge AND the creekbed are both considered the playing surface, relocating your lie on the bridge is OK provided there is room to stand there.James Scanlon wrote:How does this apply in casual water? I saw this occur at Flat Rock where someone landed underneath the bridge in casual water and couldn't take a stance but was allowed to mark it directly above it and play from the bridge/
The instance I was referring to was a dry creekbed with a bridge over it and the player considered the bridge to be a "Casual Obstacle" when in fact it is a permanent part of the course/park.
803.01 B. Casual Obstacles to a Stance: A player may obtain relief only from the following obstacles that are on or behind the lie: casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players' equipment, people, or any item or area specifically designated by the Director before the round. To obtain relief, the player must remove the obstacle if it is practical to do so. If it is impractical to move the obstacle, the player's lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the target, is on the line of play, and is not more than five meters from the original lie (unless greater casual relief is announced by the Director).
-
Jay Nourse
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 156
- Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 5:26 pm
- Nickname: JayNo
- NEFA #: 1598
- Location: Buffumville
Re: Rule of verticality ?
Hole 13 maple hill countless times people have been under the bridge next to the green stance is accessible from underneath and they play from on the bridge saw it happen at the vibram this year and the "rule of verticality" was mentioned first person I ever heard use that a few years back was Jon Gordon lol
TEAM BUFF
-
Titan_Bariloni
- I live here
- Posts: 2875
- Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:49 pm
Re: Rule of verticality ?
what if the TD defines under a bridge as not the playing surface?
-
Mike Murphy
- I have no life
- Posts: 6052
- Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:03 pm
- Nickname: Cheef
- NEFA #: 1102
- Location: Marlborough, MA
Re: Rule of verticality ?
Then shouldn't that be considered OB? Its physical land, but if its unplayable for any reason that should be out of bounds.Titan_Bariloni wrote:what if the TD defines under a bridge as not the playing surface?
Aces or Eights!!!
-
Drew Smith
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 696
- Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:58 am
- Nickname: Drew
- NEFA #: 313
- Location: New Hampshire
- Contact:
Re: Rule of verticality ?
You could move up to the bridge (with stroke), right?
803.02.A - Optional Relief. A player may elect at any time to take optional relief. The lie may then be relocated to a new lie which is no closer to the target, and is on the line of play. One penalty throw shall be added to the player's score.
803.02.A - Optional Relief. A player may elect at any time to take optional relief. The lie may then be relocated to a new lie which is no closer to the target, and is on the line of play. One penalty throw shall be added to the player's score.
-
Drew Smith
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 696
- Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:58 am
- Nickname: Drew
- NEFA #: 313
- Location: New Hampshire
- Contact:
Re: Rule of verticality ?
Isn't that an unplayable playing surface?Josh Connell wrote:
The only instance in which you can move a lie up or down like that is if the disc is not on a playing surface already. For example, a disc that rolls into a culvert pipe. Another example would be a rocky surface like the green on hole 11 at Buffumville...if a disc slid between a couple boulders there such that you can't get a foot (or hand) behind the disc to take a stance.
