OB disc not usable for second throw

Have a rules dilemma? Post it here.
Post Reply
Mike Scorzato
discussion pro
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:23 pm

OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Mike Scorzato »

I've been informed that if a disc is OB, the same physical disc used is not allowed to be thrown on the same hole. I looked at the OB rules and cannot find any part that supports this.
Is there a section of the rule book that clearly states this?
Josh Connell
I live here
Posts: 2003
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
Contact:

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Josh Connell »

Nope. Not a rule. Whoever told you that...an idiot.

Kudos to you, though, for looking it up instead of taking their word for it.
Danny White
discussion lifer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:15 pm
NEFA #: 1590
Location: Upstate NY

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Danny White »

Wouldn't the Time Rule pretty much prohibit the option to retrieve the thrown disc? Especially if it was a drive.
Just Wondering.
Danny White
PDGA - 35189
NEFA - 1590
Mike Scorzato
discussion pro
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Mike Scorzato »

Danny White wrote:Wouldn't the Time Rule pretty much prohibit the option to retrieve the thrown disc? Especially if it was a drive.
Just Wondering.
I don't think so. You are allowed reasonable time to retrieve your disc regardless of how far it is. The clock should start once you take your stance.
Josh Connell
I live here
Posts: 2003
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
Contact:

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Josh Connell »

Danny White wrote:Wouldn't the Time Rule pretty much prohibit the option to retrieve the thrown disc? Especially if it was a drive.
Just Wondering.
It might prevent the player from retrieving the disc and immediately re-throwing it if it's far enough away from the player's next lie, but that wouldn't be the case every time. If the disc is sitting two feet from where it last crossed the line, it wouldn't take the player 3 seconds to pick it up when they arrive to play from that last in-bounds point. At that point, there would be nothing to prevent the player from throwing the disc again.
Josh Connell
I live here
Posts: 2003
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
Contact:

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Josh Connell »

Mike Scorzato wrote:
Danny White wrote:Wouldn't the Time Rule pretty much prohibit the option to retrieve the thrown disc? Especially if it was a drive.
Just Wondering.
I don't think so. You are allowed reasonable time to retrieve your disc regardless of how far it is. The clock should start once you take your stance.
Not quite. The rules allow you reasonable time to reach your lie. That doesn't necessarily include retrieval of the disc.
Danny White
discussion lifer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:15 pm
NEFA #: 1590
Location: Upstate NY

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Danny White »

Mike Scorzato wrote:
Danny White wrote:Wouldn't the Time Rule pretty much prohibit the option to retrieve the thrown disc? Especially if it was a drive.
Just Wondering.
I don't think so. You are allowed reasonable time to retrieve your disc regardless of how far it is. The clock should start once you take your stance.
WARNING Thread Drift!
30 Seconds does not start with YOUR stance.

804.01 Excessive Time
Last updated: Wednesday, December 26, 2012 - 12:17

A maximum of 30 seconds is allowed to each player to make a throw after:
The previous player has thrown; and,
The player has had a reasonable amount of time to arrive at the disc; and,
The playing area is clear and free of distractions.

Back on topic
Thanks Josh I see your point. I was seeing it from a 'forced Retee' perspective, not my disc is in the OB creek.
This question did bring back a memory of a video I saw of a player pretty much emptying his bag attempting to hit an island green.
Danny White
PDGA - 35189
NEFA - 1590
Bill Bertera
discussion lifer
Posts: 600
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:03 pm
Nickname: redbill
NEFA #: 1647
Location: Shirley, MA

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Bill Bertera »

did this guy also inform you, that you need to take your 2nd shot with your pants down if your drive doesn't reach the short tees?
Mike Scorzato
discussion pro
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Mike Scorzato »

Thanks for the info guys.
Bill Bertera wrote:did this guy also inform you, that you need to take your 2nd shot with your pants down if your drive doesn't reach the short tees?
Yes.
Kenji Cline
I live here
Posts: 1118
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:19 am
NEFA #: 1163
Location: Colonie, NY

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Kenji Cline »

This is why I carry a rule book. If someone says there is a rule you don't quite think is right hand them the book and tell them to show you the rule.
President of
Image
Nefa 1163
PDGA # 37696
John Giampapa
discussion lifer
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:35 pm
Location: Walpole, MA

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by John Giampapa »

I've always been told that if your drive goes OB you can not use that same disc to re-tee. So are you saying that is not the case?

Also as far as the 30 second rule, the Pros at the Vibram Open were taking up to a minute after being in their stance
Team Borderland
Josh Connell
I live here
Posts: 2003
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
Contact:

Re: OB disc not usable for second throw

Post by Josh Connell »

John Giampapa wrote:I've always been told that if your drive goes OB you can not use that same disc to re-tee. So are you saying that is not the case?
There is no rule nor has there ever been a rule that barred a player from using a disc strictly because it landed OB. You can use the same disc if you can retrieve it and return to the tee without exceeding your 30 seconds. Keep in mind that the 30 second rule really only prevents you from using the same disc again if you are immediately re-teeing. If, for example, you don't realize you're OB until you reach the disc and you then have to trek back to the tee to re-throw, your 30 seconds wouldn't begin until you returned to the tee.
John Giampapa wrote:Also as far as the 30 second rule, the Pros at the Vibram Open were taking up to a minute after being in their stance
That's because Pros are wienies when it comes to enforcing that rule because they think if they call it on someone else, they'll get it called on them and their precious marathon pre-throw routines would get all messed up from the need to "rush".
Post Reply