As long as you've sufficiently demonstrated full control of balance to the satisfaction of your group, you can do anything you want before or after your disc comes to rest. The purpose of the rule is to prevent follow-throughs and jump putts inside the circle. It is not to prevent advancing past your lie while the disc is in motion.Bobby Direnzo wrote:So I can take a putt at 25ft and show balance once it leaves my hands and just before it hits the chains or just as it hits the chains I can start running to the basket even though I dont know if it will stay or pop out and that woudnt be a falling putt? The rule is messed up if thats the case. Then what does a falling putt even mean then, i know its to control balance inside 10M but for that isntant, I wouldnt call that control by any means.
802.04 Throwing from a Stance
-
Josh Connell
- I live here
- Posts: 2003
- Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
- Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
- Contact:
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
-
Bobby Direnzo
- I have no life
- Posts: 8739
- Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:58 pm
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
So anyone can say they had balance because there is no time line on proving that. The falling putt rule is a joke then.
NEFA#1035.
PDGA#46509
Northampton Ma 1x.
Tully is my bitch...Old layout course record: Tully Ma 48.
Dueced hole 15 at Hylands. BOOM!!
"Retired from the sport."
PDGA#46509
Northampton Ma 1x.
Tully is my bitch...Old layout course record: Tully Ma 48.
Dueced hole 15 at Hylands. BOOM!!
"Retired from the sport."
-
Josh Connell
- I live here
- Posts: 2003
- Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
- Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
- Contact:
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
No. The group has to determine whether a player demonstrated balance before advancing. It is a group call, not a self-call. The PDGA wants players to define "full control of balance" the way Supreme Court Justice Potter Stewart once tried to define obscenity..."I'll know it when I see it."Bobby Direnzo wrote:So anyone can say they had balance because there is no time line on proving that. The falling putt rule is a joke then.
-
Jeff Prendergast
- I live here
- Posts: 1258
- Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:31 am
- Location: about 15 minutes away
- Contact:
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
...and that's why Tom Brady will be starting at quarterback this Sunday.Josh Connell wrote:I'd say calling a violation based on a non-rule or a misinterpretation of a rule in which no actual violation took place shouldn't stand.
-
Matt DeAngelis
- I have no life
- Posts: 9605
- Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 8:54 pm
- Location: Braintree, MA
- Contact:
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
I think it is more interesting that the thread died on September16th 2013. Bob resurrected it on September 16th 2015.
-
Titan_Bariloni
- I live here
- Posts: 2875
- Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:49 pm
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
I think bob actually thought he was involved in a current discussion
-
Bobby Direnzo
- I have no life
- Posts: 8739
- Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:58 pm
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
No I ran into this at a recent tourney. I dont get that if you showed that you "matained balance" for a few seconds or so and then ran to the basket before the disc hits the chains or just when it hits the chains inside the circle that is not a falling putt. This rule is obsured. The term "disc comes to rest" doesnt even make sense.
In the rules there is no talk about disc comes to rest which is stupid.
D.Putting: Any throw from within 10 meters of the target, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the target, is a putt. Supporting point contact closer to the target than the rear edge of the marker disc after the disc has been released is a stance violation. The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the target.
In the rules there is no talk about disc comes to rest which is stupid.
D.Putting: Any throw from within 10 meters of the target, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the target, is a putt. Supporting point contact closer to the target than the rear edge of the marker disc after the disc has been released is a stance violation. The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the target.
NEFA#1035.
PDGA#46509
Northampton Ma 1x.
Tully is my bitch...Old layout course record: Tully Ma 48.
Dueced hole 15 at Hylands. BOOM!!
"Retired from the sport."
PDGA#46509
Northampton Ma 1x.
Tully is my bitch...Old layout course record: Tully Ma 48.
Dueced hole 15 at Hylands. BOOM!!
"Retired from the sport."
-
Bobby Direnzo
- I have no life
- Posts: 8739
- Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:58 pm
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
Matt DeAngelis wrote:I think it is more interesting that the thread died on September16th 2013. Bob resurrected it on September 16th 2015.
Obviously Im posting.
NEFA#1035.
PDGA#46509
Northampton Ma 1x.
Tully is my bitch...Old layout course record: Tully Ma 48.
Dueced hole 15 at Hylands. BOOM!!
"Retired from the sport."
PDGA#46509
Northampton Ma 1x.
Tully is my bitch...Old layout course record: Tully Ma 48.
Dueced hole 15 at Hylands. BOOM!!
"Retired from the sport."
-
Titan_Bariloni
- I live here
- Posts: 2875
- Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:49 pm
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
bob,it's simple really
notpoking fun you are missing something and once you realize it, things will be like drrrrrr
notpoking fun you are missing something and once you realize it, things will be like drrrrrr
-
Josh Connell
- I live here
- Posts: 2003
- Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
- Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
- Contact:
Re: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance
There's good reason there's no talk of discs coming to rest in this rule...because it has NEVER been a part of the rule. Ever. The location/action of the disc is irrelevant in ALL stance calls (tee, fairway, green) once it leaves the hand. You want the rule to say something it has never said and was never intended to say because you have long misunderstood the rule. That's kinda stupid. The rule works just fine as is.Bobby Direnzo wrote:In the rules there is no talk about disc comes to rest which is stupid.
D.Putting: Any throw from within 10 meters of the target, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the target, is a putt. Supporting point contact closer to the target than the rear edge of the marker disc after the disc has been released is a stance violation. The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the target.