A good example of Option 1 for the Out-of-Bounds rule came up this weekend at Hyzer Creek - Hole #9 - a dogleg left with the creek running right to left, 1/2 way through the fairway. A player threw his drive that ricocheted off of a tree and went way left and ended up in the creek - OB. (Morgan, the owner of Hyzer Creek, would say "He's in the SHIZZLE!")
The player was getting ready to mark his lie just outside of the creek when we explained the option to throw again from the tee, and taking only one stoke penalty for the OB. He returned to the tee and ended up carding a 5 (some would say circle 5) on the hole, instead of what could have easily been a 6 or 7 just to get out of the "shizzle".
While some people don't like the 'Throw from previous lie' option, here is an example where it saved a stroke or two.
803.09b
B. A player whose disc is considered out-of-bounds shall receive one penalty throw. The player may elect to play the next shot from:
(1) The previous lie as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved from an approximate lie, as agreed to by the majority of the group or an official; or (2) A lie that is up to one meter away from and perpendicular to the point where the disc last crossed into out-of-bounds, as determined by a majority of the group or an official. This holds true even if the direction takes the
lie closer to the hole; or (3) Within the designated Drop Zone, if provided.
OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
-
Danny White
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 607
- Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:15 pm
- NEFA #: 1590
- Location: Upstate NY
OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
Danny White
PDGA - 35189
NEFA - 1590
PDGA - 35189
NEFA - 1590
-
Josh Connell
- I live here
- Posts: 2003
- Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
- Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
- Contact:
Re: OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
Great example of a situation where knowing the rules, or playing with someone who knows the rules and is ready/willing to point out the applicable rule to you, can allow you to gain an advantage on the course. And good for the player to save himself a couple strokes by listening to your advice.
I can't count how many times I've pointed out the previous lie option to players where it would clearly be advantageous to them to take it. Some took the option, some didn't. Still not quite sure why the players who didn't go back to their previous lie chose the way they did. Maybe it was an old school mentality (having played back when there was no option at all) or they just didn't feel it was advantageous to give up whatever distance they'd gained. Frankly, I think it's because many players feel the rules are only there to punish players, and that the most punitive option is always the correct option, which is not the case at all.
I can't count how many times I've pointed out the previous lie option to players where it would clearly be advantageous to them to take it. Some took the option, some didn't. Still not quite sure why the players who didn't go back to their previous lie chose the way they did. Maybe it was an old school mentality (having played back when there was no option at all) or they just didn't feel it was advantageous to give up whatever distance they'd gained. Frankly, I think it's because many players feel the rules are only there to punish players, and that the most punitive option is always the correct option, which is not the case at all.
-
Mike Laterreur
- I live here
- Posts: 1450
- Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:34 am
- Nickname: SaxMike
- Location: Berwick, ME
Re: OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
I used it once during the Fairfield Open many years ago. I gacked a 20' putt for 2the off the cage and watched it roll 50' down the hill ob. It was a much easier 4 repeating the putt than what most likely would've been a 5. Or worse if it had rolled again.
Knowing the rules can sometimes be a huge advantage.
Knowing the rules can sometimes be a huge advantage.
"Such is Discgolf"
Yup, I'm back in NEFALand ....
Yup, I'm back in NEFALand ....
-
Ryan Kasprzycki
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 210
- Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 5:46 pm
- NEFA #: 1733
- Location: East Haven CT
Re: OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
Maybe I am reading it wrong but instead of previous lie, after a disc hits a tree and goes into thick woods (not ob) and its clear no matter what you do you will probably hit another tree and possibly be deeper couldnt you use the optional relief rule?
Can this be taken at any time? the way I read it is it doesnt matter if its ob you can take a stroke and move it no closer to hole anywhere on line of play. But im still new . This way you wouldnt lose the little distance you may get from the first throw, either way it costs a stroke
C. Optional Relief: A player may declare that he or she is taking optional relief. The lie may then be relocated to a new lie that is no closer to the hole, and on the line of play. The original throw plus one penalty throw are counted in the player's score.
Can this be taken at any time? the way I read it is it doesnt matter if its ob you can take a stroke and move it no closer to hole anywhere on line of play. But im still new . This way you wouldnt lose the little distance you may get from the first throw, either way it costs a stroke
C. Optional Relief: A player may declare that he or she is taking optional relief. The lie may then be relocated to a new lie that is no closer to the hole, and on the line of play. The original throw plus one penalty throw are counted in the player's score.
"When the gas in my tank, feels like money in the bank" -Eddie Vedder
NEFA # 1733
NEFA # 1733
-
Chuck Kennedy
- I live here
- Posts: 1528
- Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:21 pm
Re: OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
Yes, you can use that option any time.
-
Ryan Kasprzycki
- discussion lifer
- Posts: 210
- Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 5:46 pm
- NEFA #: 1733
- Location: East Haven CT
Re: OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
Thanks Chuck, I used it in Cranbury Classic, some people in my intermediate group knew the rule, one said I had to put in in line of play 1 or 2 meters from the treeline I was in, I settled for that since it was a good look at the basket but I believe it reads anywhere on the line of play as long as it isnt closer. It was my first tournament and didnt want to make a big deal
I am surprised more people dont use this rule when a shot goes really bad and the next one could get worse
I am surprised more people dont use this rule when a shot goes really bad and the next one could get worse
"When the gas in my tank, feels like money in the bank" -Eddie Vedder
NEFA # 1733
NEFA # 1733
-
Chuck Kennedy
- I live here
- Posts: 1528
- Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:21 pm
Re: OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
It's not often where it sets up so that moving back on the line of play gets you out of the woods without going far back. Or if it does, you're so far back and offline that using the Optional Rethrow and playing from your original lie might be better. I'm thinking where the Optional Relief option is more likely to be used is to move back from a big pricker patch or posion ivy (if not officially marked casual). The other scenario which might make sense (when there's a 2m penalty) is to declare you're going to take the Optional Relief penalty instead of the 2m penalty when your disc is suspended above 2m. This way you can mark farther back from under maybe a big pine tree hugging the ground where your 2m penalty lie would otherwise end up.
-
Josh Connell
- I live here
- Posts: 2003
- Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
- Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
- Contact:
Re: OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
Chuck Kennedy wrote:The other scenario which might make sense (when there's a 2m penalty) is to declare you're going to take the Optional Relief penalty instead of the 2m penalty when your disc is suspended above 2m. This way you can mark farther back from under maybe a big pine tree hugging the ground where your 2m penalty lie would otherwise end up.
Whoa whoa whoa. I don't think you can take optional relief instead of a 2m penalty. Optional re-throw, yes, since it does not require there be an established lie in order to enact the rule. But optional relief requires a lie to be established before you can take relief from it. To establish the lie, you have mark it below the suspended disc and take the associated penalty, then you can take the optional relief from that newly established lie. Without a lie, how do you determine the line of play?
-
Chuck Kennedy
- I live here
- Posts: 1528
- Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:21 pm
Re: OB - Throw from the previous lie Option
I thought I would pull you out on this one. Yes, the word 'lie' is not used in the Optional Rethrow rule. But the concept is the same in the Optional Relief rule being called before a penalty. I had asked the RC at one time whether the player was able to take Optional Relief on an OB throw by moving back on the line of play from the point where the disc went OB instead of playing it from that spot and just getting the 1-shot optional relief penalty. The answer was "yes."
It would be the same concept with the 2m rule or mando. In fact, it solves the problem where a player gets double penalized with a 2m penalty and having to play from under a big pine tree with limbs to the ground and then needs to take another penalty for relief.
I think the wording in the 2013 rules is a bit more clear that players can take Optional Relief any time even though the word lie was used there: http://conraddamon.com/pdga/2013/rules2013.html
I've got a note into Conrad to clarify.
It would be the same concept with the 2m rule or mando. In fact, it solves the problem where a player gets double penalized with a 2m penalty and having to play from under a big pine tree with limbs to the ground and then needs to take another penalty for relief.
I think the wording in the 2013 rules is a bit more clear that players can take Optional Relief any time even though the word lie was used there: http://conraddamon.com/pdga/2013/rules2013.html
I've got a note into Conrad to clarify.