Page 1 of 1
Question about a tee pad lie
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:21 pm
by Erik Zarazinski
During a round at Webster, my drive hit a tree right in front of the tee pad, rolled backwards, and came to rest on the back corner of the tee pad about 3 feet from the back end of it. I ended up just re-teeing.. What the correct way to play this lie?
Re: Question about a tee pad lie
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:24 pm
by Jeff Wiechowski
Eric Zarazinski wrote:During a round at Webster, my drive hit a tree right in front of the tee pad, rolled backwards, and came to rest on the back corner of the tee pad about 3 feet from the back end of it. I ended up just re-teeing.. What the correct way to play this lie?
Mark the disc or throw from behind it.
Re: Question about a tee pad lie
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:27 pm
by Erik Zarazinski
After the fact, that's pretty much what we thought... Just wasn't sure... good to know though.
Re: Question about a tee pad lie
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:40 pm
by Jeff Prendergast
You can play your 2nd shot from the spot the disc landed. If you declare the lie unplayable, then you can re-tee, but you do that with a penalty stroke, and the re-tee is your 3rd shot.
I don't have a rulebook handy, but that's the gist of it I believe.
Re: Question about a tee pad lie
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:45 pm
by Josh Connell
The only time a tee is actually treated as a tee is when you are throwing your first shot on the hole or a re-throw mandated by rule (OB, lost, invoking optional rethrow). If your disc happens to land on it in any other situation, you play it like any other playing surface...mark and play from the lie with all applicable stance rules.
If you were in a tournament and re-teed like that, you'd basically be invoking the optional rethrow rule and be subject to an additional penalty throw, so the re-throw would be your third shot on the hole. In a casual setting, playing it the way you did is fine provided the rest of your group had no objections.
Had it happen to me once at Devens in a tournament. Hit that first stupid tree right in front of the tee on hole 7 and landed four feet behind the front of the box. I think that's the CTT (closest to the tee) equivalent of acing a hole to lock up a CTP, which wound up being the only thing I won that day.
Re: Question about a tee pad lie
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:59 pm
by Erik Zarazinski
yeah, I was expecting to take the re-tee for 3, but it was a casual round and the group called it my second shot, even though I didn't throw from behind my lie.. Although, I did end up releasing only about a foot in front of it... (but still).. Just wanted to be certain in case that did happen during a tourney.
Re: Question about a tee pad lie
Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 3:10 pm
by Chuck Kennedy
Cement surfaces on the course are OB aren't they once your shot has left the tee? Sounds like an OB penalty and play it a meter from the pad where it was last inbounds...
(ok j/k)