Tee Box Question

Have a rules dilemma? Post it here.
Post Reply
Rob Walker
I live here
Posts: 1904
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:36 pm
NEFA #: 670
Location: Rolling the wrong way....
Contact:

Tee Box Question

Post by Rob Walker »

This rule came up at the Devens tournament last weekend. The tee box on Hole 2 is a three sided box of rocks, with a fly pad inside that is smaller than the box made by the rocks. The reason for this is simply that was the size of fly pad that we had left over and it is a quite short hole that really doesn't need any kind of run up.

My question is that I believe that the rocks make up the tee box area, so your supporting point can be any where inside the rocks. It is possible to stand with one of your feet off the fly pad, but still inside the rocks. A knowledgeable pro at the tournament allegedly said that you needed to have your supporting point(s) on the fly pad itself. The rule doesn't seem to specify the difference.

Could I simply say that the rule as it applies to this particular tee box, at this particular course, the tee box is the rectangle of rocks and not the fly pad itself? Is a fly pad inherently the entire tee off area?


Here is the rule:

802.01 Teeing Off

Play begins on each hole with the player throwing from within the teeing area. When the disc is released, the player must have at least one supporting point in contact with the surface of the teeing area, and all supporting points must be in contact only with the surface of the teeing area. Supporting point contact outside the teeing area is allowed if it comes before or after, and not at, the moment the disc is released.

Any supporting point contact outside the teeing area at the time of release constitutes a stance violation and shall be handled in accordance with sections 802.04 E and F.
Sometimes I wonder, "Why is that disc getting bigger?". Then it hits me.
Josh Connell
I live here
Posts: 2003
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
Contact:

Re: Tee Box Question

Post by Josh Connell »

It is 1000% up to the TD or course designer to determine what is the tee and what defines it. Similar to the old wood frame debate on rubber/concrete pads. Some courses allow for contact with the wood as part of the tee, others say the wood is not part of the tee and therefore contact at the release is illegal. Neither is wrong.

Years ago, I played a tournament in which the tees were defined by two stakes about five feet apart marking the front line, but some tees also had a full size (4' X 10') rubber mat as well. The mats were typically lined up with the left-side stake, leaving a foot or so of bare dirt between the right edge of the mat and the right-side stake. Anyhow, during a round, one of the players in my group (a local) teed off from the dirt portion and I (far from a local) immediately called him for a foot fault. My assumption was the mat was there, that was the defined tee (it had borders on all sides). The player insisted he knew what he was doing, and the TD backed him up upon appeal, saying the stakes defined the tee regardless of the presence of the mat.

Local rule rules the day.
Rob Walker
I live here
Posts: 1904
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 7:36 pm
NEFA #: 670
Location: Rolling the wrong way....
Contact:

Re: Tee Box Question

Post by Rob Walker »

Thanks, Josh. That is the way that I understood it.
Sometimes I wonder, "Why is that disc getting bigger?". Then it hits me.
Drew Smith
discussion lifer
Posts: 696
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:58 am
Nickname: Drew
NEFA #: 313
Location: New Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Tee Box Question

Post by Drew Smith »

Josh Connell wrote:It is 1000% ...

Josh it is so rare that I get to call you out on a rules mistake, but I finally found something.

% is "percent" or "per cent" which means "for 100". I believe it is "...100% up to the TD ...", not 1000%, as you have stated.

What is percent?

8-)
Drew Smith NH
PDGA #16073 | NEFA #313
Tag League Manager tool
Josh Connell
I live here
Posts: 2003
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Dragan Field, Auburn Maine
Contact:

Re: Tee Box Question

Post by Josh Connell »

Drew Smith wrote:
Josh Connell wrote:It is 1000% ...

Josh it is so rare that I get to call you out on a rules mistake, but I finally found something.

% is "percent" or "per cent" which means "for 100". I believe it is "...100% up to the TD ...", not 1000%, as you have stated.

What is percent?

8-)

That's not so much a rules mistake as a math one, no?

And that link doesn't help my problem. I think the zero key on my keyboard is stuck.

00000000000000000000000000

See?
Post Reply