movement after a disc comes to rest

Have a rules dilemma? Post it here.
Post Reply
Stephen Ditter
I live here
Posts: 4227
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:34 pm
Location: Wickham Park Manchester
Contact:

movement after a disc comes to rest

Post by Stephen Ditter »

During Lufbury league my drive landed (and came to rest) approx. 12 from the basket on hole 2. The player following me had spiked a shot that caught my at rest disc just right, sending it approx. 5 feet further from the basket into a more wooded area. It was the first time in all my years of playing that I saw a stationary disc move so far after contact. I could not quote the exact rule by number (which turns out to be 802.02 E) but I did know that once a disc comes to rest that is the mark. The group all agreed and I replaced my disc the it's original position and sank the putt. I hope I would have sank the moved disc also, but why intentionally take a harder shot.
[color=#008040]Team Wick[/color]
Patrick Harris
discussion lifer
Posts: 609
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:25 pm
Nickname: DeafDiscGolfer
Location: Brattleboro, VT
Contact:

Re: movement after a disc comes to rest

Post by Patrick Harris »

Happens to me once in NY.

Landed my disc on one side of the stick on top of the hill near the basket. Its a Birdie hole.

Another disc landed on the other side of the stick but there's a small stick in middle under the main stick. You get the picture (leverage effect). My disc flipped back about a foot away from the basket and rolled down the hill...WTF :shock:

So, the group..after laughing hard...allowed to let me put my disc back to its original place and made the putt. :D
Tee Off and Pay ATTENTION!! :shock:
(a twisted concept from Ed's infamous quote)
NEDDG #12 / DDGA #134 / DGCR #1287 / NEFA #1748 / PDGA #42420
Jeff Wiechowski
I have no life
Posts: 8579
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:20 pm
Nickname: "Captain Anhyzer"
NEFA #: 1112
Location: Ballston Lake, NY
Contact:

Re: movement after a disc comes to rest

Post by Jeff Wiechowski »

Similar issue this weekend at a TC..........

My drive hit a tree far down the fairway and landed upside down in a puddle that encircled the trunk of the tree. A hillside prevents players on the tee from seeing the base of the tree. By the time I'd gotten to the lie the wind had moved the disc a good foot or more from the base of the tree. My wife was the only one to witness the movement(she was down the fairway) and didn't feel it was her place to mention it to us. She mentioned it to me on the ride home.

Being as she was only a spectator, is she obligated to call attention to the movement? Would her word be considered "official" and have me relocate my disc to its proper lie?
Image
2019 Innova Ambassador
PDGA #11653 / NEFA #1112
DisCaptains4Life
Jeff Prendergast
I live here
Posts: 1258
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 8:31 am
Location: about 15 minutes away
Contact:

Re: movement after a disc comes to rest

Post by Jeff Prendergast »

Somebody called into a PGA tournament after seeing a rules violation on TV and it stuck.

http://www.pga.com/camilo-villegas-disqualified-kapalua-after-viewer-phones-in-rules-violation
NEFA #429
Image


Anywhere but...
Chuck Kennedy
I live here
Posts: 1528
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:21 pm

Re: movement after a disc comes to rest

Post by Chuck Kennedy »

In sanctioned play, spotters and officials can be deputized by the TD (1.11D) to make calls. But spectators can tell the group what they saw, especially if asked and the group use that information as desired. If it's non-sanctioned, then she could be a legit spotter if the group wanted.

Video evidence is still not allowed in DG but has been allowed in ball golf. However, they are changing the rules in regard to call-ins like the incident referenced.
Jeff Wiechowski
I have no life
Posts: 8579
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:20 pm
Nickname: "Captain Anhyzer"
NEFA #: 1112
Location: Ballston Lake, NY
Contact:

Re: movement after a disc comes to rest

Post by Jeff Wiechowski »

Thanks Chuck.
Image
2019 Innova Ambassador
PDGA #11653 / NEFA #1112
DisCaptains4Life
Post Reply