I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Have a rules dilemma? Post it here.
Post Reply
Steven Dakai
I live here
Posts: 3016
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 7:10 pm
Nickname: PDGA # 26019
NEFA #: 829
Location: Putnam CT

I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Steven Dakai »

I heard this a bunch of times at the Dam Big One. What exactly is the criteria for assuming a disc has crossed over OB (like hole I and hole 8 at the tourney), then over IB, the back OB without ever touching the ground IB?
No players have any sight line from the tee box to make any sort of group decision.
I would think, and I may be way off, that clear evidence of the disc reaching some point inbounds would be necessary.

Chuck, enlighten me please.
Chuck Kennedy
I live here
Posts: 1528
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:21 pm

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Chuck Kennedy »

I don't know the holes. However, when there are holes where making a judgment like that is tough to see from the tee, I recommend establishing a drop zone where players must play from (or retee) if they end up OB, no matter what route they got there.
Karl Molitoris
I live here
Posts: 2307
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:09 pm

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Karl Molitoris »

Just one more case of "OB rearing its ugly head". Why hole 1 needs OB there is beyond me. The "best" solution I can come up with there - to eliminate any of that "I think it was last IB here. Well (another person says) "No, here" Etc. - is to use (maybe) the B-tee as a drop zone. But, in reality, since the rip-rap is NOT really a safety issue here, maybe it shouldn't BE an OB.
Of course, hole 1 should be scrapped all-together because it absolutely makes the course flow suck (hole 2 should be the starting hole at Hodges).

Hole 8 is a little more "line of sight" so determining where it went OB is a "little easier".

Karl
Ps: Betcha can't tell I hate OB :D .
PDGA2010ADVGMDWC
Steven Dakai
I live here
Posts: 3016
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 7:10 pm
Nickname: PDGA # 26019
NEFA #: 829
Location: Putnam CT

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Steven Dakai »

That wasn't hole 1, but hole I (Roman numeral 1) which was to the rear of the pin on hole 7. It is on top of the dam and plays left to right about 600' with nothing but rip rap to your front and right extending to the hole. The goal is to place a shot on the fire road at the foot of the dam. It is possible to anny over(or close to) the road below and then hyzer back into the ob rip rap. But, unless you have a high noon shadow under your disc you cant tell if it went over the inbound area,let alone where.
Dave Hickson
I live here
Posts: 1184
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:11 pm
Nickname: Hickson
NEFA #: 1285
Location: Buffumville

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Dave Hickson »

Every time you go ob Saturday just play a meter off the riprap from were it was last inbounds. Wich is a group decision of course. :lol:
TEAM BUFF
Kevin Gardner
discussion lifer
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:29 am
Location: Central Mass

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Kevin Gardner »

Steve just play in my group I'll give you the benefit of the doubt 8-)
PDGA#41647
TEAM MAPLE HILL
Steven Dakai
I live here
Posts: 3016
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 7:10 pm
Nickname: PDGA # 26019
NEFA #: 829
Location: Putnam CT

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Steven Dakai »

:D
Last edited by Steven Dakai on Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dave Hickson
I live here
Posts: 1184
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:11 pm
Nickname: Hickson
NEFA #: 1285
Location: Buffumville

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Dave Hickson »

stevend wrote:Its funny that it was a Buff regular improving his lie, :?:
Remember Hickson, you are the captain and should be setting some sort of example on rules and etiquette.



I hope your not calling me or my team cheaters ! As far as the tourney I was not in your group so I don't know who your talking about. I do know the hole and it's very easy for one person (on the box) to see the disc cross inbounds and fade back out of bounds. But the rest of the group is to the left of the box (not driving) and sees it differently. There probably should have been a drop zone.
TEAM BUFF
Craig Cutler
I live here
Posts: 1463
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: West Milford, NJ
Contact:

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Craig Cutler »

Chuck's right, the TD can eliminate this by stating " any disc that comes to rest in OB, player re-tees, or use a drop zone". Rule worked great on hole 8 B-B Warwick this year. Eliminates all questions, and pushy players trying to strong arm their group.

I love OB, but you have to be careful planning events, esp large events. It''s to fluky to say "take it where you think it crossed."
Joe Yaskis
I have no life
Posts: 5508
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 3:09 pm
Nickname: yak
NEFA #: 836

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Joe Yaskis »

Thanks for removing my post while there are countless times when people call each other a bundle of sticks on this board. To all of you crybabies I will start to do the same when I feel offended as well. Last time I heard if someone had my property and would not give it back that is illegal. Jeff have fun.
Back to the roots. TEAM BUFF
Run a league, run a tourney, do something,
RIP Dave
Titan Bariloni

Re: I think I crossed inbounds...somewhere over there.

Post by Titan Bariloni »

interesting...

Joe question(s).....are you really angry with Karl for charging 2 bucks for a disc..?

why..? what system would you use..?

would you prefer them to stay put in the water..?

what system was used before Karl..?

not being a pain actually curious on why there is such a conflict..just trying to understand...although you owe me no explanation..and I understand if you do not want to discuss

I enjoy your humor...and I like when people tell other people they are a bundle of sticks..!
Post Reply